Don’t wait too long with castrating your bunny (*trigger warning for sensitive viewers)

It has been a rough start of the weekend for the babies. As you know, we first thought Bonnie to be a girl but after she started to try and mate with Bilbo, not once or twice but several times(!) we started to wonder. Could Bonnie be… A boy? So we checked and were both shocked and happily surprised when we saw two big beanlike bunny balls. Bonnie was not a she but a he! Then we checked Bilbo too, just to be sure of that he was in fact a boy and he was. Is.

So we have two lovely bunny boys.

I have always wanted two baby boys so I was overjoyed and delighted. But hold yer horses! Two male bunnies, under one roof? And one more dominant than the other?? Even though they get along and work well together for the most part, we started more and more to notice that it didn’t work out so well between them. Thus we made the decision to have Bonnie castrated. But for whatever reason, it has taken us long to schedule an appointment and now, both of our babies has had to suffer for it.

Bad parenting from our side. I take that as I know we could have done so much better and so much sooner.


*


Today we had planned to go and visit two of our friends and stay with them for the weekend. It was going to be so much fun and we both looked forward to it. But when we saw what the babies had done to each other it did not feel right to be away from them. The right thing to do would be to cancel and hang out another weekend.

So my Friday has been a total bunny day. We decided to separate Bonnie and Bilbo for a while to let them both recover and calm down but also to prepare Bonnie (and ourselves) for his coming castration, which we now finally has scheduled. Thanks to my mother in law it was possible because she had an extra bunny cage, big enough for Bonnie to stay in. Though it pains me that they can’t be together right now, I’m glad knowing that they will be okey and that they soon can go back to living together in their house.

Never before have I felt so much like a mother than I have today and it is a very pleasant and warm feeling, sometimes with a mix of extreme worry. Though my babies aren’t human and have fur, they still are my babies.


Even though I won’t be able to hang out with my friends this weekend, I still think it is going to be a cozy three days coming. Spending time with and caring for these two bunnies is a little challenging sometimes but it brings me do much joy. I’m happy to be their mamma just as my boyfriend always will they their pappa and we will always be here for them when they need us.

And what have we learned from this? Schedule for a castration as soon as you realise that it is needed. Don’t wait. Just do it.

One thought on “Don’t wait too long with castrating your bunny (*trigger warning for sensitive viewers)”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started